The award ceremony, which will include award lectures of both awardees, will be held in the framework of the Annual Meeting of the EMS in Bratislava, Slovakia, 3-9 September 2023, namely in the session “Atmospheric boundary-layer processes, turbulence and land-atmosphere interactions”.

The Awardees:

Professor Christine Susan Betham Grimmond, Dept. Meteorology, School of Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences (SMPCS), University of Reading, Reading RG6 6ET.
Professor Emeritus, Larry Mahrt, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences, Oregon State, University, Corvallis, Oregon. Senior Research Scientist, NorthWest Research Associates, Redmond, WA.

About the award:

The award is an international award that is in principle delivered annually to a creative scientist who has made breakthroughs in “Boundary layer studies in Atmospheric and Ocean sciences” since 2021. Note that in 2022 no award was given which is now compensated by handing out two awards in 2023. The award is named after Sergej Zilitinkevich, who was an extraordinarily creative scientist. His main research area was boundary layer dynamics and turbulence. He utilized his knowledge widely in different scientific disciplines. The life of Sergej Sergeevich Zilitinkevich is a vivid example of a life of service to Science and of having an irresistible desire to understand the surrounding world, striving for a spiritual understanding of the foundations of the Universe and a deep respect for the centuries-old values and traditions of humanity.

For more information, visit the European Meteorological Society website.