This effort is led by co-PIs Sue Weiler (Whitman College) and Sheldon Drobot (University of Colorado) and is part of UArctic’s IPY Cluster for Higher Education and Outreach as recommended or approved by the IPY joint committee of International Council for Science (ICSU) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO.)
The NGPR will catalyze formation of a vibrant, international, and interdisciplinary community of polar researchers working collectively to extend polar research frontiers across the natural and social sciences and communicate their research to non-specialist audiences. The symposium will provide a venue where newly minted PhD graduates can learn from each other and from veteran polar scientists (some of whom took part in the IGY); share ideas and techniques for educational outreach; expand their historical, scientific and professional outlook; and forge lifelong, interdisciplinary collegial relationships with their peers.
Some of the polar scientists who will help mentor the new generation during this symposium include Patrick Webber (Michigan State University), Donal Manahan (University of Southern California), Stephanie Pfirman (Barnard College), Phil Smith (former executive director of the National Research Council of the National Academies), and Chris Elfring (Director of the Polar Research Board of the National Academies).
The NGPR will be held May 4-11, 2008 at the La Foret Conference Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA. Advanced students and Ph.D. graduates conducting polar research during the IPY and who completed or plan to complete their degree between Jan. 1, 2002 and Mar. 31, 2009 are eligible to apply. Scholars from the full range of natural and social sciences are eligible. While the focus is on U.S. research, citizens of all countries are eligible.
The official application form is now available on the NGPR website at
Please direct any questions to Sheldon Drobot ( ) or Sue Weiler ( ).