Northern (Arctic) Federal University


Northern (Arctic) Federal University (NArFU) was established in June 2010 by merging a number of leading Arkhangelsk higher educational institutions. It includes 7 higher schools, 2 institutes, 3 colleges and 3 branches providing educational services to about 20,000 students.  

One of the major NArFU research focuses is the Arctic development. Core areas of NArFU academic focus are high technologies and knowledge-intensive sectors, infrastructure development and Northern Sea Route, natural resources management, environmental protection and climate change, health and well-being, social sphere and human resources in the High North.

As a federal university NArFU develops a system of higher professional education that will optimize regional educational structures and strengthen links between educational institutions and economic and social spheres in the North-West of Russia.

Facts and figures

Year Established 2010
Total Number of Staff 4165
Number of Academic Staff 1163
Number of Students 20000
Focus Areas

Building engineering in a cold climate environment
Environmental management
Maritime oil and gas constructions
Ecological monitoring and environmental safety
Industrial biotechnology and bioengineering
Ship power plants
Industrial economics
IT for analysis of remote-sensing data on ice moving
Information and space systems for ecological management
Applied geology
Medicine biophysics
Nuclear physics and technologies

Web link for international students
Fields of Study Offered Teacher training and education science (broad programmes)
Arts (broad programmes)
Humanities (broad programmes)
Social and behavioural science (broad programmes)
Business and administration (broad programmes)
Law (broad programmes)
Physical science (broad programmes)
Engineering and engineering trades (broad programmes)
Manufacturing and processing (broad programmes)
Agriculture, forestry and fishery (broad programmes)
Environmental protection (broad programmes)

Latest courses

All courses